top of page

Mental Illness and Taking Time: A Former Leavetaker Reflects

In January of 2013, this leavetaker decided at the last minute to take a medical leave. This post is a brief reflection of their three semesters of leave from Brown, from January 2013 to September 2014.

I took a leave to address my mental illness. The first few months of my leave mostly consisted of staying in bed and taking my dog for walks. Eventually I worked up to consistent treatment, a couple food service jobs, and taking classes at a local community college. When I meet other people who have taken leave, much of the time their story consists of community service work in a foreign country. While this can seem more impressive and productive, I think experiences more aligned with my own (staying at home, recovering, healing) are equally as valid. Getting treatment and coming to know myself and what routines work for me set me up for success once I returned to Brown, and I have to say I've never regretted my leave.

bottom of page